Fall 2017

 The MWC has done a lot in 2017!  What have we been up to?

  • We had our Annual Meeting and New Member induction ceremony.  This year’s officers will be: President – Cheryl Ray, Vice President – Aimee Krans, Treasurer – Dara Shoemake, Secretary – Nicole Harkins.
  • Our club members surprised the Mebane PD with goodies for Officer Appreciation day as a way to say thank you to the Mebane PD for their support of our community.
  • We held our regular prom dress donation, distributing formalwear to area teens.
  • The Mebane Community Garden, in its 10th year, was cleaned up and fully populated with local residents wanting their own plots to grow fruits, veggies and flowers.
  • Arts and physical activity were encouraged during a collaboration between Mebane Rocks, Mebane on the Move, Alamance Arts Council, and the Mebane Historical Society.
  • We’ve continued our Breaking Bread for Haiti as part of our international initiatives.  And held a benefit yard sale – lots of dollars raised for children in need!
  • Healthy food is big for our club, and we were excited to host special events at our local Farmer’s Market to encourage eating fresh, local produce!
  • Mebane on the Move continues to host the annual Mad Dash 1-mile fun run for kids and offer free MebFit classes for the community.
  • We hosted a public forum on land use planning for the City of Mebane.
  • We’ve provided fresh fruit from local farmers for the backpack program.
  • We raised funds for SAFE during Mebane’s Autumn Fest
  • Our candidate’s forum to hear from the candidates running for our local city council election was a huge success.
  • On October 15th, we held our 2nd Annual Farm to Fork event to raise foods for hunger initiatives and other important services offered by the club.

Want to be a part of our group? Join us for our monthly social night or meetings!


F2F_118193997_1512607005429720_4953181101607314492_nMWC- Jan 201720954028_1564263393637710_1816425848746695886_n


Read More